CollegeWindow logoHistorically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) List

There are 104 Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) that are open for business and currently providing higher education programs in the United States. Here is the HBCU list in alphabetical order nationally, and then State by State.

Alphabetical Listing 

Click school to view web page from CollegeWindow.

Alabama A&M University

Alabama State University

Albany State University

Alcorn State University

Allen University

American Baptist College

University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff

Arkansas Baptist College

Barber-Scotia College**

Benedict College

Bennett College

Bethune-Cookman University

Birmingham-Easonian Baptist Bible College*

Bishop State Community College

Bluefield State College

Bowie State University

Carver College *

Central State University

Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science *

Cheyney University of Pennsylvania

Claflin University

Clark Atlanta University

Clinton College

Coahoma Community College

Concordia College, Alabama (closed 2018)

Coppin State University

Delaware State University

Denmark Technical College

Dillard University

University of the District of Columbia

Edward Waters College

Elizabeth City State University

Fayetteville State University

Fisk University

Florida A&M University

Florida Memorial University

Fort Valley State University

Gadsden State Community College

Grambling State University

Hampton University

Harris-Stowe State University

Hinds Community College

Hood Theological *

Howard University

Huston-Tillotson University

Interdenominational Theological Center

F. Drake State Technical College

Jackson State University

Jarvis Christian College

Johnson C. Smith University

Johnson C Smith Theological Seminary *

Kentucky State University

Knoxville College **

Lane College

Langston University

Lawson State Community College

LeMoyne-Owen College

Lewis College of Business (closed 2013) – no web page

The Lincoln University

Lincoln University

Livingstone College

University of Maryland Eastern Shore

Meharry Medical College

Miles College

Miles School of Law *

Mississippi Valley State University

Morehouse College

Morehouse School of Medicine

Morgan State University

Morris Brown College **

Morris College

Norfolk State University

North Carolina A&T State University

North Carolina Central University

Oakwood University

Paine College

Paul Quinn College

Payne Theological *

Philander Smith College

Prairie View A&M University

Rust College

Saint Paul’s College (closed 2013) – no web page

Savannah State University

Selma University

Shaw University

Shelton State Community College

Shorter College

Simmons College of Kentucky

South Carolina State University

Southern University at New Orleans

Southern University at Shreveport

Southern University and A&M College

Southwestern Christian College

Spelman College

St. Augustine’s University

St. Philip’s College

Stillman College

Talladega College

Tennessee State University

Texas College

Texas Southern University

Tougaloo College

Councill Trenholm State Community College

Tuskegee University

University of the Virgin Islands

Virginia State University

Virginia Union University

Virginia University of Lynchburg

Voorhees College

West Virginia State University

Wilberforce University

Wiley College

Winston-Salem State University

Xavier University of Louisiana

*Not recognized by US Department of Education as an HBCU*
** Not currently accredited **


By State

Click school to view web page from CollegeWindow.

Alabama A&M University- Huntsville
Alabama State University- Montgomery
Concordia University-Alabama- Selma (closed 2018) – no web page
Birmingham-Easonian Baptist Bible College- Birmingham*
Gadsden State College- Gadsden
J.F. Drake State Technical College- Huntsville
Lawson State Community College- Birmingham
Miles College- Fairfield
Miles School of Law- Fairfield *
Oakwood University- Huntsville
Selma University- Selma
Shelton State Community College- Tuscaloosa
Stillman College- Tuscaloosa
Talladega College- Talladega
Tuskegee University- Tuskegee
H. Councill Trenholm State Community College- Montgomery

University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff- Pine Bluff
Arkansas Baptist College- Little Rock
Philander Smith College- Little Rock
Shorter College- North Little Rock

Charles Drew University of Medicine & Science*- Los Angeles

Delaware State University- Dover

District of Columbia
University of the District of Columbia
Howard University

Bethune Cookman University- Daytona Beach
Edward Waters College- Jacksonville
Florida A&M University- Tallahassee
Florida Memorial University- Miami Gardens

Albany State University- Albany
Carver College*- Atlanta
Clark Atlanta University- Atlanta
Fort Valley State University- Fort Valley
Interdenominational Theological Center- Atlanta
Johnson C Smith Theological Seminary*- Atlanta
Morehouse College- Atlanta
Morehouse School of Medicine- Atlanta
Morris Brown College**- Atlanta
Paine College- Augusta
Savannah State University- Savannah
Spelman College- Atlanta

Kentucky State University- Frankfort
Simmons College of Kentucky- Louisville

Dillard University-New Orleans
Grambling State University- Grambling
Southern University and A&M College- Baton Rouge
Southern University New Orleans- New Orleans
Southern University-Shreveport- Shreveport
Xavier University- New Orleans

Bowie State University- Bowie
Coppin State University- Baltimore
University of Maryland- Eastern Shore- Princess Anne
Morgan State University- Baltimore

Lewis College of Business- Detroit (Closed 2013) – no web page

Alcorn State University- Lorman
Coahoma Community College- Clarksdale
Hinds County Community College- Utica
Jackson State University- Jackson
Mississippi Valley State University- Itta Bena
Rust College- Holly Springs
Tougaloo College- Tougaloo

Harris-Stowe State University- St. Louis
Lincoln University- Jefforson City

North Carolina
Barber-Scotia College**- Concord
Bennett College- Greensboro
Elizabeth City State University- Elizabeth City
Fayetteville State University- Fayetteville
Hood Theological Seminary*- Salisbury
Johnson C. Smith University- Charlotte
Livingston College- Salisbury
North Carolina Central University- Durham
North Carolina A&T State University- Greensboro
Shaw University- Raleigh
St. Augustine’s University- Raleigh
Winston-Salem State University- Winston Salem

Central State University- Wilberforce
Payne Theological Seminary*- Wilberforce
Wilberforce University- Wilberforce

Langston University- Langston

Cheyney University- Cheyney
The Lincoln University- Lincoln University

South Carolina
Allen University- Columbia
Benedict College- Columbia
Claflin University- Orangeburg
Clinton College- Rock Hill
Denmark Technical College- Denmark
Morris College- Sumter
South Carolina State University- Orangeburg
Voorhees College- Denmark

American Baptist University- Nashville
Fisk University- Nashville
Knoxville College**- Knoxville
Lane College- Jackson
LeMoyne Owen College- Memphis
Meharry Medical College
Tennessee State University- Nashville

Huston-Tillotson University- Austin
Jarvis Christian College- Hawkins
Paul Quinn College- Dallas
Prairie View A&M University- Prairie View
Southwestern Christian College- Terrell
St. Philips College- San Antonio
Texas College- Tyler
Texas Southern University- Houston
Wiley College- Marshall

US Virgin Islands
University of the Virgin Islands- St. Thomas &  St. Croix – no web page

Hampton University- Hampton
Norfolk State University- Norfolk
Saint Paul’s College- Lawrenceville (closed 2013)
Virginia State University- Petersburg
Virginia Union University- Richmond
Virginia University of Lynchburg- Lynchburg

West Virginia
Bluefield State College- Bluefield
West Virginia State University- Institute

CollegeWindow logo